8 Components of Ayurveda:

It is believed that Ayurveda has 8 distinct components based on Sanskrit literature dating back to several hundreds of years ago.

  • Kayachikitsa – general medicine covering all aspects of the human body
  • Kaumara-bhrtya and Bala Roga – paediatric medicine for treating children.
  • Shalya tantra – all aspects of surgery.
  • Salakya-tantra –  ophthalmology, Ear-Nose-Throat and Dental treatment
  • Bhuta-vidya – treatment of undefined invisible symptoms
  • Agada-tantra – treatment of poisoning.
  • Rasayana-tantra  – Geriatrics, Prevention of Ageing, and natural rejuvenation of the skin.
  • Vajikarana tantra –  Sexual Health and Reproduction