Learning Ayurveda: 6 Types of Ayurvedic Treatment

Ayurveda identifies the cause of disease taking into consideration food habits, environmental factors, emotional issues, etc., and only then prescribes treatment. Ayurvedic treatment falls into these 6 broad categories:

#1 Shodhana – Purification of the body both internally and externally.

#2 Shamana – Palliative care to balance the doshas

#3 Pathya Vyavastha – diet and exercise with focus on healthy food habits and improving digestion.

#4 Nidan Parivarjan – avoiding factors that cause and aggravate disease.

#5 Satvavajaya – Psychotherapy to treat mental health issues and enhance emotional wellbeing.

#6 Rasayana – boosting immunity and rejuvenation for more vitality and vigour.

The focus of ayurvedic treatment is on improving the quality of life of a person by encouraging healthy diet according to dosha and physical activities to help with digestion and metabolism.  Ayurveda perceives the human body as a product of the food it takes in so almost all treatment procedures involve diet adjustments.


Additional Reading:

Clinical efficacy of Shodhana Karma and Shamana Karma in Mandala Kushtha(Psoriasis)

Effect of Shodhana Treatment on Chronic Toxicity and Recovery of Aconite

Ayurvedic approach to pathya (ideal diet planning)–an appraisal

Indian Systems of Medicine: A Brief Profile

Blog-Ad-Banner-all products

One thought on “Learning Ayurveda: 6 Types of Ayurvedic Treatment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wait ! Before you go, download your Free 52-page Health ToolKit of Home Remedies !

All remedies are tried, tested, and guaranteed ! 
1. Easy-to-follow Remedies for all common problems
2. Know The Power of Common Vegetables & Fruits
3. Build Immunity for the whole Family !