Learning Ayurveda: 8 Branches of Classical Ayurveda

Thousands of years before modern medicine made its appearance, Ayurveda had clearly defined the different branches of medicine.

1. Kaaya Chikitsa (Internal Medicine)

2. Baala Chikitsa (Paediatrics)

3. Graha Chikitsa (Psychiatry)

4. Urdhvaanga Chikitsa (Eyes, ENT, Dental and Head)

5. Shalya Chikitsa (Surgery)

6. Damstra Chikitsa (Toxicology)

7. Jara Chikitsa (Geriatrics, Anti-Ageing)

8. Vrsha Chikitsa (Aphrodisiac therapy)

Picture Credit:  keralamuralpainting.com


Additional Reading:

The Eight Branches of Ayurveda


2 thoughts on “Learning Ayurveda: 8 Branches of Classical Ayurveda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wait ! Before you go, download your Free 52-page Health ToolKit of Home Remedies !

All remedies are tried, tested, and guaranteed ! 
1. Easy-to-follow Remedies for all common problems
2. Know The Power of Common Vegetables & Fruits
3. Build Immunity for the whole Family !